Letter to a Pastor

Hi there Pastor:

Well I must say that I never thought you’d ever be interested in this. I know it must be difficult for you finally see that the Church is stuck in the mud and going nowhere, so to speak. There’s a simple remedy for your situation if you are willing to accept it. However, it will be a crucifixion experience.

I understand from your last letter that you believe that Christianity is in an absolute famine for the Word. You’re right, I’ve tried to tell people this for years now. If you could see them my standpoint you’d be utterly dismayed at how gaunt they’ve become, like nothing more than animated skeletons. I’ve tried so hard to get them to listen to me, but their ears have grown dull of hearing and their eyes just have that glassy haze over them.

So Pastor where would you like to begin, again I must say that I am thrilled that you’ve finally decided to listen to me. I want to warn you though, that my words will profit you nothing to just simply hear me and then do nothing, that’s the road fools travel on. I’ve been this way and I know what works and what doesn’t.

I am only going to give you this in ‘bite sized chunks’ so that you will know as the way opens before you that what I am saying is truth.

This is very much like the original exodus, in fact that’s exactly what it is, only this time it’s on the inside.

Now then if you are willing, I’d like you give up everything you know and everything you think you know, everything you’ve learned and everything you think that you have learned. Can you do this? Write me a letter give me your response, because we can not continue until you do.

Sincerely yours
Until then

Dear Sir

What you ask is hard. Do I have to really give up everything. I’ve been at this for so long now. Surely all that I have is not in vain is it? As you know I have my degree from Seminary College and I’ve been pastoring for 20 years now. I’ve worked and labored in the field and I have had my successes. I have studied all the great ones. My library is full of books on every subject from miracles to getting my people to tithe. My church is always full and there at least 500 that attend weekly.

But then again, to be truly honest, it’s more like a social club the people are listless and some even seem quite bored. Just last week Mrs. Johnson fell asleep again and nearly fell out of the pew, good thing her husband caught her. She’s rather elderly you know and I don’t think we could afford the law suit that Mr Jonson would have brought against us. If she hurt herself again.

So, it’s a few days now since you last communicated with me and I’ve thought about this over and over again. At first I confess that I was disgruntled, I mean, it was like you were saying, my whole life had been for nought, that everything I had learned was just nonsense or vanity. But as I have reflected and prayed I see that if all my knowledge were really right on, that I wouldn’t be feeling the way I do and my flock wouldn’t be so lifeless.

So yes, I agree and I will lay down all that I know and all that I think I know, everything I’ve learned and everything that I think that I have learned.

Your Truly

Dear Pastor

Thank you, now I will show you the way. I’ve noticed that like everyone else, you have given the Father the title of LORD. You are aware of course that this is not HIS Name.
So for our first exercise I am going to declare His Name to you. It is YHVH, get alone with Him and HE will tell you how to properly pronounce it. Then we’ll take up the journey again.

Sincerely Yours
Until then

Dear Sir

At first I thought, you’ve got to be kidding. Everybody knows that Name was lost long ago and nobody knows how to say it, much less pronounce it. I mean if the Jews don’t know it how can we know it?

But that isn’t what you said is it?

I felt rather foolish after my initial outburst. One would think that if anyone knew the Name it would be the Father. So I did what you said, I asked HIM. Then I waited and waited and then I waited some more. After a while I thought maybe HE didn’t hear me. So I fasted for a couple of days and just kept asking and asking. Finally on the last day as I was meditating on it, it was like the presence came all over me. I mean I actually felt as if someone were sitting right next to me, coaching me and saying to me, say it like this, it’s on the breath. And then all of sudden I had it. No kidding I felt the power shoot through me like multiple lightning bolts going through every fiber of my being. I shot up out of my chair or rather I should say I was literally launched out my chair. My arms shot straight out and my felt like I could kick a football twenty miles. It was extraordinary. I can hardly wait to see what’s next. Wow!

Yours Sincerely

Dear Pastor:

Can you feel my smile? Now then you have the next message to your congregation. Go and proclaim the Name to them.

Yours Truly

Dear Sir:

I expected after our last communiqué that I would have thrilling news for you, but I’m a bit dismayed. I don’t understand. To me this was the most exciting thing that happened to me spiritually in a long, long time. I expected my congregation to react the same way I did.

I shared the message and at first it seemed to go over well. At least they were paying attention to me, which I hand’t experienced for some time. But then, as I approached the Name to proclaim it a man went running and screaming out of the sanctuary. Seems he was a visiting Jewish man from the local synagogue. One of the deacons had invited him. Kind of an outreach to the Jewish people. Oh I know, it was a truly a miracle that the man even consented to come. Anyway there he went screaming down the aisle and slammed right out of the doors. So that shook everyone up quite a bit.
Well I continued with my message, but by then they were distracted and most of deacons were glowering at me, some of them left to go after the Rabbi. The people were pretty shook up. Nothing like this had ever happened before.

I explained to them how the Name had been changed or removed over ten thousand times by the Bible translators. But I’m thinking that perhaps when I said that modern translations are actually in violation of the second commandment. I think that was when the deacons really hit the roof.

Or it may have been when I told them that the word lord actually meant baal. Yes I think that was it. I had paused for a moment, dramatic effect you know, then a gentleman, Harold Chambers I think it was, stood up and declared I was teaching heresy, that I’d lost my mind, and that how dare I defile the Holy Bible.

Now after the service the deacons and the board of directors were furious with me. I am summoned to a private meeting this coming Tuesday.

Sincerely yours

Dear Pastor

As I said, it will be a crucifixion experience. Are you still willing?

Yours Truly

Dear Sir

I was hoping for advice, if you’ve really been through this before then how did you come out in these situations. I am about to lose everything, I know I am. They will insist that I not teach on the Name anymore. How can I do that. God Himself showed this to me. How can I compromise? I won’t do it? But they are the authority in my church and what they say goes.

Sincerely yours

Dear Pastor

It literally killed me.

Dear sir

Well, it’s Wednesday and the meeting was yesterday. They gave me 24 hours to decide my course. Remember I told you about the Jewish man. Well it seems that according to their traditions that ‘HaShem’ as they call it is absolutely forbidden on pain of death. So the board, not wanting to offend the Jewish Community has ordered me to immediately cease and refrain from the teaching on the Name. I am suppose to make an apology to them for my being insensitive to their religion. Can you believe they accused me of Antisemitism? The board upheld the accusation and either I make an apology or I lose my pastorate. What am I to do?

Sincerely Yours

Dear Pastor

Tell them you’ll make an apology but only from the pulpit, if you want I’ll script it for you.

Your Truly

Dear Sir

Really that’s about the last thing I expected from you. I really thought you’d tell me to advise them to go take jump in lake. I am curious though as to why I am to apologize. What have I done to apologize for? Nothing!!!!!!

I suppose I am more disgusted than anything else. I actually thought some of these would stand by me. They’ve known for me for years.

Sincerely Yours

Dear Pastor

Here is the apology for you to give next Sunday.

My friends, I apologize to you, I apologize to you for never having inspired or instilled in you a love of the truth, a love for the living God. A love for His ways. For that I am truly ashamed of myself for having wasted your time and mine.
I apologize for teaching you the doctrines of the dead. Pastoring you was my job, I got paid for it, I didn’t do it for free. So in this case I was nothing more than just another hireling to be hired or fired at a whim. I taught you the status quo the statements of faith the doctrines of the denomination. Again please accept my apology.

But as to proclaiming the Name of YHVH I will never apologize. I care not if the entire world is offended. I care not if tomorrow I am on the street. I will never apologize for that. If for fear of the Jews or in this case for fear of the Christians I am expected to refrain and cease from teaching or proclaiming the Holy Name on account of twisted and perverted tradition, then tradition be damned and they that cling to it in lieu of truth. That is the destiny of all who forsake truth.

If you truly want the broadway then it is yours, you already have it, no need to pursue that. It’s your inheritance but it’s not my legacy. My legacy is this, I shake the dust from off my feet and leave you with a vision of my backside, because you won’t see my face again.

Your Truly

Dear sir

Well, I did it. I dreaded it, but I went ahead and read the letter to them. I had it memorized by then, funny though it was like the words even though you wrote them were already written upon my heart. I doubt I have ever spoken with such passion, short though it was. You could have heard a pin drop in the sanctuary, nobody said a word as I walked out the door. I did however make a show of shaking the dust off of my feet at them.

You know I actually thought some of them would beg me to stay, but no body did. I guess the rumors were flying all last week. Everyone already knew that something was up.

I look back and half to laugh at the faces of the board members and the deacons. They were entirely shocked, some even looked afraid. But some some were twisted with rage.

At this point, I am glad my wife passed away last year and that my children have all grown and left home. I don’t think my wife could have suffered the event.

Anyway, it’s strange for the first time in years I feel free. I’m wondering, what will I do now?

Sincerely Yours

Dear Pastor

I suggest that you leave Egypt.

Yours Truly

Dear Sir:

Egypt? I’m not sure I understand. Could you be a little more explicit please?

Sincerely Yours

Dear Pastor

The wilderness awaits, pastor.

Your Truly

Dear Sir

Well it’s been two weeks since your last letter, I’m still a little mystified by this Egypt and wilderness thing you’re talking about. But let me give an update on the situation here.

An article appeared in the local paper here on Monday morning. The headlines read ‘Pastor claims Bible is an affront to God.’ It went on to say that I had had a nervous breakdown of sorts and that I had said that the Bible is full of errors and should be banned.

That afternoon my house was pelted with rotten apples and tomatoes, it was a mess.
Tuesday a Ryder Van showed up and dumped several loads of garbage in my front yard. Then the neighborhood dogs showed up before I could clean up the mess and strewed the garbage everywhere. It took me days to clean it up. Not only that but I had to do it at night, it wasn’t safe in the daylight. And the hate mail keep piling up.

On a brighter side, my former music minister and associate pastor came by for a visit. I appreciated that as I was feeling pretty low as you can well imagine. They were actually very supportive. As a matter of fact Josh, he’s the associate pastor said he’d like to hear more about the Name. So we talked and talked on through the night. Ari was there too, he stayed around to hear. Ari was the music minister, he just sat there strumming his guitar as he listened, he takes it everywhere you know.

You would have laughed to hear Josh, he’s pretty young but he’s got the right stuff. He kept saying every few minutes ‘that’ll preach, that’ll preach.‘ And such beautiful melodies coming out of Ari’s guitar, I don’t know if I’d ever heard any of them before. I don’t even know if he was conscious of them.

I told them about you and the conversations we’d been having. They were both anxious to speak with you so I gave them your address. I hope you don’t mind.

Sincerely Yours

Dear Sir:

Ari here, I think Pastor M told you about me. But if he didn’t I’ll briefly explain my situation. First off he told me you were an ol’ guitar player, a man after my own heart I said. Maybe you can help me. You see, I have all these melodies that just come and come to me, but I can’t seem to find the right words to fit the melodies. I’ve tried over and over again to fit them to the psalms, Isaiah, even the proverbs, but they just don’t seem to come out right. It’s like trying to fit a square peg in a round hole.

Sincerely Yours
Ari

Dear Ari

First do this, make a music covenant with your Heavenly Father.
Then get back to me.

Yours truly

Dear Sir:

Ari here again, I didn’t know we could do that. Do you mean make an actual covenant? How do I do that?

Sincerely yours
Ari

Dear Ari

First and up front, know that this is very powerful and not to be taken lightly. Whatever you say, be faithful to fulfill your part. For instance I’d say something along these lines. Oh Father in Heaven, Holy is your Name, your will be done in me as it is in Heaven, Oh Father, it is Your word I desire to sing, the word you have spoken and the word you would manifest. So if it pleases you, I make this covenant with you. I will only sing and play what you desire that your will be done, if you will accept this covenant with me.
The next thing Ari is to seal the Covenant with bread and wine. Eat nothing nothing but unleavened bread and drink nothing but grape juice for however many days you feel is necessary.

Just as note here Ari, covenants are made one to one. Nobody gets them through osmosis. Whether it is the Great Covenant or a personal covenant, it is done one to one, face to face, mono y mono. I think you get the point.

Yours Truly

Dear Sir

Pastor M here again, I’m still stuck on this Egypt thing, please explain what you are talking about.

Sincerely Yours
Pastor M

Dear Pastor M, without looking at your Bible can you tell me what the fourth Commandment is?

Yours Truly

Dear Sir

No, I can’t.

Sincerely Yours

Dear Pastor M

If you don’t even know that, then truly you are still in Egypt. Don’t take it too hard Pastor, few have ever successfully made the journey. It begins in Egypt, where essentially you know nothing until the Deliverer comes. When He comes, whatever He says to do, do it without argument.

Yours Truly
Michael

9 comments

  • They have followed the PAALS, and led my people astray-
    instead we should be following Jesus the Jewish Messiah !

    Poem – Looking forward (Rocky)

    Jesus never calls us out
    For what we used to be.
    His voice is so much greater
    Than paul the Pharisee.

    “You are Simon son of John”
    Said Jesus, without elaboration.
    No mention of a cloudy past
    No hint of condemnation.

    No accusation against the brothers
    No comments dark and obscure,
    Writing to the Church in Corinth
    “that is what some of you were.”

    Not the voice of the accuser,
    Boss Paul the Pharisee,
    Telling the redeemed people of God
    About what they used to be.

    Jesus never said right is wrong,
    He never said wrong is right.
    He came so we can turn from darkness
    And into His glorious light.

    “Neither do I condemn you” said Jesus,
    To a woman entrapped by dogs.
    The game the dogs play is the same today,
    Except now they do it on blogs.

    “Go, and sin no more” said Jesus,
    Don’t relive that history.
    Look forward, not back, don’t dwell on your past.
    “You will be called” Rocky.

    Looking forward – Chapter 2

    “I am he who searches hearts and minds”
    says the Risen Jesus Christ
    “Repent and do what you did at first”
    Don’t be lazy since He paid the price

    Yes, Jesus sees our sins today
    Don’t think that He is blind
    But the words of paul the Pharisee
    Will put you in a bind

    Jesus washed away your sins
    Don’t listen to paul the accuser
    paul abandoned the Church in Corinth
    And then paul became an abuser

    When you put your trust in Jesus
    Yes, your stains were white as snow
    You didn’t need to wear a Scarlet Letter
    Everywhere you go

    “I will repay each of you
    According to your deeds”
    This is Jesus speaking to The Church
    Not a business selling felt needs

    For “those who claim to be apostles”
    Jesus said they must be “tested”
    Priscilla, Aquila, and Apollos
    Persevered and were not bested

    They exposed the false teachings
    Of paul the Pharisee
    So the Church in Ephesus rejected paul
    And had a chance to be free

    Bibliography
    All quotes in “Chapter 2” are the words of Jesus, in Revelation Chapter 2

    • Excellent Matthew, loved it…..thank you

      • Glad you liked it. So many people are bound in spirit by the evil spirit of Paul, they can’t hear the voice of the Real Jesus, given in……

        The message of The 11 (“The narrow gate”)

        “The eleven disciples went to Galilee”
        “Where Jesus had told them to go”
        They heard His voice and obeyed His will
        Despite uncertainty down below

        Jesus spoke to them at length
        He wasn’t really a Tweeter
        Only 3 of them wrote Scripture
        Matthew John and Peter

        “Feed my sheep” said Jesus, for though
        “Heaven and earth will pass away”
        I have the words of eternal life and
        “My words will never pass away”

        “Enter through the narrow gate”
        The voice of Jesus through the eleven
        Believe in Jesus “through their message”
        And “eat from the tree of life” in heaven

        Jesus commissioned the eleven
        With “everything I have commanded you”
        “Teaching THEM to obey” Jesus
        And “THEM” means me and you !

        “The command given by our Lord and Savior”
        Is not a Pharisee speaking alone
        It came rather “through your apostles”
        Matthew Peter and John

        If a Pharisee boasts proudly
        Those men added nothing to my message
        He doesn’t speak for Jesus
        His words are nothing more than garbage

        Bibliography
        All “quotes” in “quotation marks” are from the writings of the Apostles Matthew John and Peter in the Bible, mostly the “Red Letter” words of Jesus. [Matthew, John, Revelation, 2 Peter – NIV]

  • Correction, it was Gates of Creation video. Good stuff.

    Maybe it would be better for me to email questions rather than to clog the blog with random stuff.

  • Now I see my response as too negative. It was’t supposed to be, but I come across that way, as critical, when I am really raising questions, and I think questions are ok, but not saying things that come across as nasty. I intended it to be more questioning but as I read it it sounds critical. I haven’t really read or listened to enough of your material to make any kind of determination about where you’re coming from, in fact, I began to listen to, I think, the Brotherhood of Kings?, and was convicted because I know it’s so true. Death is in the tongue, and words in print are representations of words out of our mouths and belatedly I need to retract mine. Sorry.

  • This rings false as if this pastor guy is not a real person. It reads more like a script.

    Why would you keep telling him to do what you say and get back to you over and over as if you’re the ‘man’ who has all the answers, like, “I’m so ahead of you and you’re so stupid, pastor.” The one with all of the answers is God. It’s not for you to give it to him in ‘bite size chunks’, it’s for God to reveal it to him by his Spirit as he is able to receive it and your job is to tell him that that is what he needs to do. All this dialogue is doing is transferring his dependency from on man’s doctrine to anothers, yours. If you are as wise as you put forth then you would know that trying to get those in bondage to the church to hear you is fruitless and it’s not even the plan. The plan is to pray that God will open their ears to hear HIM! At the risk of being redundant, your way exalts you rather than God and Jesus, whatever names you want to call them by.

    There’s no such thing as a musical covenant, at least according to Scripture. What are you talking about?

  • Hey Mishayah, am I able to email you? I’m having alot of trouble and I’m going through hell on earth right now and I could really use your help and guidance.

  • Hi Samuel:

    Check your email is sent you my address.

  • Hi Mishaya,

    Can you please give me your e-mail? I would like to talk to you and ask you some questions about the Name.

    Please,
    Samuel Velez

Leave a Reply

